Saying that the 'Skins are worse than the Lions simply still not begin to plumb the depths of their inadequacy in Detroit today.
They got crushed by the Lions. It was not even as close as the final score.
We were as a team:
Two-for-Ten on Third down offensively.
97 Yards on 9 Penalties.
-(minus) 13:30 Time of Possession differential.
65 Yards rushing.
Campbell looks decent in no huddle, but he's only in that when the game is on the line. Unfortunately, that too is even an overstatement because in no-huddle situations he's also going against a defense that's giving him the middle of the field.
There is really very little to be enthused about today. Moss, I guess, got involved more.
It was altogether a rough, rough day for the 'Skins. Some guys looked dinged-up, too. Cooley on the last drive limped a bit, Jason, too.
Things are uncomfortable in DC, now. There will be talk about firing Zorn. It's hard to think that will really help, but it's easy to see why folks would want that.
There will be talk of benching Campbell. That may happen. It's hard to see those two coming out of their slump on the strength of their own resiliency. It hasn't happened yet.
I think Campbell will sit down before Zorn gets the boot.
It's only one loss. But it will be writ large in the media this week. I'd still pick 'em over Tampa next week at FedEx, but for now, this is going to hurt.
Ouch.
2 comments:
Ouch is true.
And there are very good things that came out of our loss:
1. Jason Campbell threw for 340 yards, 2 TD, with a bit of scramble to boot. Not bad (actually, I think he was #2 on the week).
2. Santana Moss went for 178 receiving yards and of course one TD.
But the rest of the team was dismal. (I do not include Chris Cooley, who is the man.)
No red zone offense - what is up with that? If it were my team, this would be the focus of every practice, every day. It would be the only thing I practiced until we got it right.
Finally, the problem is not the coaching. Look st Schottenheimer, Turner (skip Spurrier) (skip Gibbs for other reasons) and look at Zorn.
As Ditka said the other day, I can buy you an offense that scores in the red zone for 40 million - what Washington has paid Haynesworth for what? A season?
Crazy.
And how about that team spirit building episode via the creation of a QB controversy in the off-season with the Redskins owner going after Cutler? More craziness. The issue leaked, Campbell must have felt betrayed - or at best abandoned by his team- and then Cutler goes to the Bears?!? A disaster for morale.
I love the team. We have superstars. Let's use them, and unleash them. Campbell needs continuity with the coach; so let's not give him the bench OR a new coach. They are fine the way they are. Lets get some owner decisions that bode well for the team in terms of wins and points, NOT jersey sales.
And let's stop suing ticket holders who have to return them because they can't pay.
Blargle.
-Da Commish.
(Oh, and kudos to the Bandidos for pulling out the big win - in the face of a gale of naysayers!)
Giving handouts to Detroit has been the Washington way over the last year, so I guess the 'Skins were just following suit.
Post a Comment